Committee Members

Majority Members

(D - CT)

Richard Blumenthal

(D - NH)

Maggie Hassan

(D - NM)

Ben Ray Luján

Minority Members

(R - TX)

John Cornyn

(R - ID)

James Risch


The Senate Caucus on International Narcotics Control was created to “monitor and encourage United States Government and private programs seeking to expand international cooperation against drug abuse and narcotics trafficking” and to “monitor and promote international compliance with narcotics control treaties.” As a formal organization of the U.S. Senate, the Caucus has the status of a standing committee. The Caucus exercises oversight on a wide range of issues, including international counternarcotics assistance and domestic drug prevention and treatment programs. The Caucus has held numerous hearings over the years and has issued a number of reports on U.S. narcotics control policy.


The Senate Caucus on International Narcotics Control was established on August 16, 1985 by the Foreign Relations Authorization Act for Fiscal Years 1986 and 1987, and was originally called the United States Commission on International Narcotics Control. Pursuant to the Legislative Branch Appropriations Act of 1986, the name of the Commission was changed to the United States Senate Caucus on International Narcotics Control, effective November 13, 1985.

The appointment of private citizens was discontinued after 1987 in accordance with the group’s redesignation as the U.S. Senate Caucus on International Narcotics Control. The Caucus now consists of seven members of the U.S. Senate. Four of the members represent the Majority, and three members represent the Minority, with two designated as Chairman and Co-Chairman.